h1

Letters from 4th Graders

November 30, 2009

Post by Nicole Mackey

I think one of the best perks of this job has to be the surprise thank you letters from students. I’ve been handed hand-drawn thank you notes from individual students and stacks of students’ thank you letters from their teacher. I’ve even found envelopes full of letters in my mail box on Monday mornings. I love reading what the students found to be “the coolest thing ever!” or how they interpreted a hands-on activity.

This week, a coordinator showed me a stack of thank you letters she received from the fourth graders. The PTO sponsored this visit and we had local high school students as our volunteers. She copied them for me and I wish I could share all of the letters with you. And just so you know, these are all as written by the students.

Enjoy!

“Thank you for doing this for us. It is very fun. You guys ROCK!…I hope when I grow up I can be a COSI worker too.”

“Thank you for the PTO for making this happen by our fund raser. It is probably the best thing we do with the money. Thank you so much for making this happen.”

“Thank you for letting us be apart of that nice assembly. It was really fun and cool. I never knew science could be taught that way. It was a very cool and eye catching assembley. My favorite part was when Hunter poored the water in and made it spin. … I really like to do science. Especailly the way we did it today. Thank you so much!”

“I can’t wait till we get to go to the gym again. I’m so excited. Next year, we’ll actually get to go to COSI! Thank you so much!”

“Thank you for letting us do all that fun stuff. Those segway things are AWESOME! It was cool that we had to charge it. The centers looked cool. I scared everyone when the bowsey ball went crash! I am excited to go next year. ” (this is from one of my volunteers from the assembly.)

“It’s very fun and exciting for everyone. The skooter was very fun. Plus I know so much more about energy now. I bet you put a lot of effort into this project. A big thanks to the high school helpers, too. Without them, the hands on activities would be a mess. So, they deserve some credit. Everyone was a big help though. I had lots of fun, please come back next year!”

The letters are always honest, the drawings are adorable and please keep them coming!

Leave a Reply

