h1

Separated at Birth?

November 9, 2010

Post by Kyle Jepson

As Outreach Educators, each year (pending serious staffing changes) we each learn and perform two shows, one in the fall followed by one in the winter. This fall, Jonathan Barnes and I have the pleasure of working together on COSI’s It’s Simply Chemistry program.

For those of you unfamiliar with the program, our resident villain Dr. Arthur Slimerheimer steals the ingredients we use to create COSI Super Slime. Throughout the assembly we follow clues around the room hoping to find the slime and catch the reprehensible villain. This program teaches students to think critically by following the clues left by the nefarious Doctor and solving a mystery.

Which leads me into this next story; after the mystery is solved and the students are excused back to class many students like to come up front to hug me, give feedback, tell me what kind of turtle they have. Twice in the last month, I’ve received a comment I’ve never heard before. The first time from a lanky fourth grader, the second from a modest first grader; “Did you know you look like Velma from Scooby Doo?” Why no, I did not…

Although I don’t see it, I’m flattered. If you think about it Velma was the only chick on that show that got anything done. Plus she is a proud geek, just like me. While on the road, I am an avid texter, we love to send one another our funny anecdotes throughout the day, cute pictures, quotes from volunteers. I send the team this story and later that day when I return to my hotel and check Facebook, my lovely show partner Jonathan has posted this on my wall:

Okay so maybe we both have short brown hair, we both wear glasses, and love to solve mysteries….I still don’t see it.

Leave a Reply

